Peter Caddle

BU’s Note: Local media has reported that Pedro Caddle turned himself over to authorities in the company of his Attorney at law on Friday 30, 2013. Given the nature of this matter BU withholds the name of the person who submitted this writing two days ago which was not picked up by BU.

Once again, the police are seeking public assistance in locating Pedro Caddle, who is wanted in connection with a number of “serious criminal matters”.  Pedro has been recently released from prison, where he has been held since 2011, following a May 2011 request for public assistance in locating the man, then too being sought in connection with a number of “serious criminal matters”.

Of course, Pedro’s venture into “serious criminal matters” began well before 2011.  The readership may recall that Pedro was a victim of a shooting incident while at the QEH in 2002.  Public transcripts on the ensuing trial state, “Pedro Caddle, a person who by his own admission is constantly in trouble and always being shot, went to the Queen Elizabeth Hospital on that day in question for dressing for one of his numerous gunshot wounds, and was shot again by an unknown assailant.”

Without fully being aware of the total number of charges and convictions made against Pedro during his lifetime of crime, I cannot say definitively what he is and is not guilty of, however, a minimal amount of investigation would  reveal that the number of reported burglaries in St. Joseph increase significantly during the periods when Pedro is not incarcerated.

His criminal activity has targeted locals and tourists alike.  There have been allegations made against Pedro with respect to an armed robbery at the Round House in 2011 and again this very week at Sea U guest houses.  In fact, Pedro was indicted in a burglary made against my own Canadian family while on vacation in Barbados as far back as 2001.

The above was offered to provide some context.

How many times does Barbados intend to arrest, charge, convict and release this seasoned criminal?

Has any assessment been done on the destructive economic impact Pedro has had on Barbados in missed tourism opportunities, lost marketing dollars, or the cost of his many runs through the legal system.

Is any consideration made for the long-standing emotional trauma he has caused his many victims?

Lastly, and what I really want to know is, when, Barbados, is it enough?

MAXIMUM SENTENCING

84 responses to “Pedro Caddle, Maximum Sentencing Please!”

1. Simple Simon | April 28, 2013 at 10:28 PM |
    Pedro is also probably neglected or abused in childhood, likely abandoned by his father, and he is likely of minimal intelligence,
    …………………………………………………..
    Could this same americana yardstick be applied to the operators and directors of Trade Confirmers, Clico, ICCB , Jack Warner and all the host of fhieving tucking businessmen and professionals in this country who juck out our eyes everyday, but unlike Pedro,they do it without a gun or physical force.
    For the last 150-200 years, Bajan fathers have been noticably absent, as many of them went off to work in the Panama Canal, building the railway in Costa Rica, cutting canes in Cuba, working on farms in America and Canada, and driving and conducting buses in England. To imply that Bajan mothers were incapable of bringing up their sons to respect law and order and to be good citizens, is an insult to our women folk.

2. @ Islandgal
    What put what wimmen in what charge what?!?
    …think we talking bout frying fish cakes?

…the first drug man that gives you an ultimatum…..and you guaranteed to pee ya-self and run hiding behind Islandguy….
    Wuh even 99% of so called men lack the balls to demonstrate true leadership in today’s world….you think um easy?!?

When it ain’t rich white businessmen giving you $100,000 to pass over $ millions of public money to their companies, it is some underworld thug giving an alternative between taking a bribe or getting shot…which choice you would take?

This is not deciding what outfit to wear to Reggae on the hill (wear mud boots)

…and all this must be managed in an increasingly public arena where every action is second guessed on BU… by Lemuel and BAFBFP.

You best stick with the little garden and leave these duties to men with balls…..if wunna could find some…

When the soft men finally realize that their balls are inadequate, the job will be taken up by BBE’s bushmen…. THEN you will see true leadership… 🙂

3. Criminals like Pedro will continue to run riot in Barbados, as they know full well that the average Bajan will run like hell at the first sign of trouble ,instead of confronting the often cowardly individual.
    What happened last week during a funeral at St Patricks Church is typical. A church full of people running like hell from a man with a cutlass.

4. @Simple Simon
    The old school days return;Simple Simon met a pieman going to the fair;
    Says Simple Simon to the pieman,we bleeding hearts are queer.
    Supt Big Grant,Inspector Connell,Sgt Philip Best,Shun-a-Frog,Powpow Simmons,Barney Lynch,Byron were among the most feared policemen because
    they had a mission in life:to rid Barbados of criminals.In those ‘bad’colonial days you got no mercy.As Rev Graveney Bannister,a magistrate,recently told an offender who knowing him to be a priest,begged for mercy,Rev Bannister told him ‘you want mercy,you ‘en gine get it hay;you go to the church for mercy and off to Dodds he was sent for a couple years.That’s the justice we want in Barbados.Stoby,Collymore,Douglas,Belgrave were no nonsense jurists.
    As for Caddle,the saying A man gotta do what a man gotta do will eventually bbefall this repeat offender.Woggy,Hall,Mark,Buddy,Dr Rat all gotta doed.

5. @ Maximum Sentencing “one where repeat offenders are treated more strongly and jailing for life is indeed a feasible option.”

I think it is reasonable to give repeat offenders longer sentences.

I think it is reasonable to jail dangerous offenders for life.

But we have to do it within a fair and transparent process. And we need to review life sentences. Because if a fella has reformed and yes I understand that it is sometimes very, very difficult to tell whether a fella has indeed reformed,, then we should let him out if he is no longer a danger to the public. Because after all it is we the taxpayers who have to pay to keep the offenders in jail. And keeping people in jail is expensive.

6. SO!!
    Whatsap??
    SEETHRO CADDLE running de PHUCKIN COUNTRY.
    Yuh Mean ONE CADDLE ent de same as de nuddah CADDLE.??

7. David wrote,”middleclass Bajans are unaware of the activities of the Pedro’s of his world from their ivory towers.”

You are wrong David.”middleclass Bajans well aware. That is why their “Ivory Towers” have guard walls, 2 or 3 big dogs and Guns.

8. You know how the police of old dealt with repeat offenders? Full them up with copper and lead.

9. We don’t want our police to be judge/jury/executioner do we?

10. Do we still believe in being judged by a jury of our peers?

11. Of course, we don’t want our police to be Judge/ jury/ executioner. But, sometime there is not alternative but to eliminate these repeat offenders. It took the language of the bullet to end the careers Mark Young, Sandy- fly and Packrat, in the 1980’s. These youthful offenders had not problem shooting at, or shooting police in the 1980’s.

12. And I came short of mentioning Barbados most notorious repeat offender, Buddy Braithwaite.

13. And it was said that when Lion Man was on his death bed, he was balling for murder and owning up to the many men he had killed. Having or exercising the 007 License to Kill, invariably come back to haunt us in later years.

14. @Colonel Buggy “Having or exercising the 007 License to Kill, invariably come back to haunt us in later years.”

Exactly.

It is not only for the criminal that we have judge/12 jury people/executioner. It is also for us. If we have to put a man down, it is better that it is a shared responsibility.

It is easier or conscience especially in those long. long dark hours of the night when we are alone with our conscience.

15. There’s this song – Criminal Mind, by Gowan (great Canadian 80’s tune) – well, it came randomly on my ipod the other day and because I was thinking about Pedro and the justice system, it really hit a chord with me. I listened 3 times. The song concludes that not everyone processes guilt in the same fashion:

Before you hand me over
    Before you read my sentence
    I’d like to say a few words
    Here in my own defense…
    Some people struggle daily
    They struggle with their conscience
    Till the end
    I have no guilt to haunt me
    I feel no wrong intent.

16. “Having or exercising the 007 License to Kill, invariably come back to haunt us in later years.”
    Perhaps wunna beginning to see why it takes a REAL MAN to be an effective leader in the overall community interest. There will be some infectious personalities from time to time in every community and unless there are leaders willing to EXORCISE such from the society, the disease will quickly engulf the whole community.
    ….It is a dirty job, but if not done we all will die….

God bless the bleeding heart, wishy washy do gooders, but they need to stay at home and play with the pets….and send forward righteous men with balls.

17. unfortunately some people never learn,these must be dealt with harshly.there is no choice any kindness is viewed as weakness,any inch becomes a mile.there has to be a red line.

18. Colonel Buggy. Avatar

Some interesting statistics on the WHO worlds murders (per 10,000 citizens)
    Honduras -91.6 , El Salvador -69.2, Jamaica 52.2, Venezuela-45.1 , Belize- 41.4, USVI-39.2, Guatemala -38.5, St Kitt & Nevis-38.2, Trinidad & Tobago_35.2, Bahamas-27.4, Puerto Rico-26.2, St Lucia 25.2, Dominica- 25.0,, St Vincent & Grenadines -22.9, Panama-21.6,
    Brazil-21.0, Montserrat -19.7, Guyana-18.6, Mexico-16.9,Bermuda-12.3, Grenada-11.6, Barbados -11.3, RUSSIA 10.2, British Virgin Islands-8.6, Cayman Islands-8.4 , Anguilla-6.8, Cuba -5.0, Suriname-4.6, Martinique 4.2, USA -4.2 , SWITZERLAND 0.0.
    All of the countries before the USA have very strict gun control laws.
    Switzerland ,with a zero murder rate, insists that all of its able citizens own firearms and qualify periodically as marksmen.

19. Colonel…………………outside of Switzerland, someone is supplying illegal weapons for these high rates of murders per capita to be occurring.

With regard to Switzerland, every one has a gun, if you know the guy sitting next to you is armed or your neighbor is armed, do you think it’s a good idea to try to rape or rob them? this brings all kinds of other arguments into play.

20. The bad boys of Barbados like Pedro Caddle are treated too lightly by the Justice system. He knows full well he does not want to die therefore as fast as he hears his name as wanted and dangerous he walks into a Police station and give himself up knowing the Justice System will work in his favour like Garcia.

Garcia is now special. He gets a three hour interview and nearly three full pages of coverage since he was set free. He is now a Barbados Hero.

THIS COUNTRY IS SPECIAL. THE ELECTRONIC AND PRINT MEDIA MAKE SURE THAT OUR HEROES ARE THE ONES WHO RUN DRUGS AND COMMIT ROBBERIES AND MURDER.

Why could they not let him go off and spent his time here out of our eyesight

21. Colonel Buggy Avatar
    Colonel Buggy

Clone Garcia is now special. He gets a three hour interview and nearly three full pages of coverage since he was set free. He is now a Barbados Hero.
    …………………………………………………………………….
    All that left now is deciding which roundabout our newest National Hero’s statue will be erected. Perhaps his lawyer will now have a bit more time on his hands to offer his services just as freely to the many Barbadians,who we have see from time to time appearing in the press complaining about the injustices in this society.

22. It is becoming sickening when Garcia said he will apply through his lawyer for citizenship. His Lawyer said he is taking the Barbados Government to the International Human Rights court. Only in Barbados.

23. @ Clone
    “Sickening” is a good choice of word. The problem with sickness is that once it starts, unless there is strong intervention either from the body’s internal defenses or from a GP, things get progressively worse at an exponential rate…
    …it looks like this place is well on the way to being run by homosexuals, with crooks dominating our legal systems and idiots in parliament.

Notice how often some of us talk about the Singapore model….about how in Barrow’s day our two countries were on parallel courses..
    …how many realize that the difference is in the decisive leadership exercised in Singapore as opposed to the laissez faire approach ’bout here?
    If Raul Garcia had arrived in Singapore with those drugs….could he and Commissong now be talking bout taking that country to any international court…? …he would have been but a brief note in history…

Peter Wickham could be on Voice of Singapore all day preaching the gospel of bullers having access to their Boy Scouts? ….he would be somewhere cowering with his like-minded friends…

Commissong has all the time in the world to champion the cause of a foreign drug mule who found himself in a difficult bind, while our legal system BEGS a REAL hero to champion justice and truth.

Does anyone think than any young boy in Singapore would be foolish enough to consider growing up to be a Pedro caddle or a Garcia?
    ….But we have created a situation here, where some must be seriously tempted…

Plant okras and you reap okras.
    Plant wild bush and yuh will get thorns..

24. Caddle was tagged today with 9 charge.

25. RBPF let the two English women who refuse to allow the court to try Crawford their prime suspect rapist take a look at Caddle. He resembles Crawford who the English women are adamant didnt do the crime but he younger. His MO is the cowardly preying on tourists while they sleep so he could be the Holetown rapist. You never know Caddle is a fellow who does’nt give a hoot about society or laws. Only the threat of capturing him dead or alive flushes him out. Commissong who’s shown he will go to any lengths to make drug dealers and murderers feel at home in Barbados probably accompany him to the police.

26. @ David
    “Caddle was tagged today with 9 charge.”
    You know the game David……for which he will plead guilty to all and get a single concurrent sentence of three years of which he will be required to serve only 18 months.

…2 months per charge.

BUT is does save the courts having to actualy DO work to find him guilty ….and then all that extra work when his lawyer appeal this …and challenge that…

…man plead guilty and let evabody guh long bout duh business do!…
    Who cares about JUSTICE, morals, and sending proper messages to our children, citizens and potential visitors..

Classic case of pissing into our own tent.

27. islandgal246 Avatar

Bushie you rave and rant about homosexuals but I have never heard you do the same about adulterers. You are very narrow minded when it comes to discussions like these. Homosexuals like adulterers are born of heterosexual or bisexual parents. Man has been bulling from the time begone. Doesn’t the bible say that man was made in the image of God? Some say the good book teaches tolerance, it also teaches hatred as well!

28. Colonel Buggy Avatar
    Colonel Buggy

Clone | May 3, 2013 at 5:26 PM |
    It is becoming sickening when Garcia said he will apply through his lawyer for citizenship. His Lawyer said he is taking the Barbados Government to the International Human Rights court. Only in Barbados.
    ……………………………………………..
    He should try the CCJ for a million bucks. I hope that the lawyer will also take Cuba and the USA to the IHRC.

29. @ Islandgal
    Bushie has zero tolerance for shi*te.

There is a big difference between homosexuality and adultery (which is wrong, disruptive to good social order and reprehensible).

The former is UNNATURAL and a clear sign of something that has gone wrong in a personality. While the latter is just plain wutlessness like stealing and cheating, (but is based on natural inclinations.)

Bushie has no problem with homosexuals per se…EXCEPT when they seek to force their UNNATURAL tendencies to be accepted as NORMAL by the rest of society.

If you are unfortunate enough to find yourself stricken with a disease you do not address the “problem” by seeking to infect everyone else… even if you are on the radio everyday….

30. How is it possible that of all the emails he reads, 99% supports his arguments. If a caller opposes his arguments he looks for the most frivolous points to hold on to. He actually bullies callers to come around to his way of thinking. Bullying seems to be his favourite pastime.

As long that he is around the next election and supporting the BLP, they will spend another five years in opposition. The majority of people just does not like what he is trying to do to Barbados
    David still waiting on your article on Peter Wickham and the Boys Scouts

31. Gabriel Tackle Avatar
    Gabriel Tackle

Everytime I hear Garcia name call I want to puke.Every time I hear Commissiong name call I want to puke.Look at the number of Guyana citizens in the news recently.Not a good example of offering citizenship to any and everybody in Caricom.The Guyana dollar and the Jamaica dollar values vis a vis the US dollar is making Barbados attractive to the flesh trade.And A J Nicklaus tink dem haff a rite fuh sen woars to Barrruhbados fuh get wuk fuh wuk.

32. Seems Commissiong’s time would be better spent working for Caricom and international clients………..better success rate, maybe the local laws are stopping him from being an adequate lawyer for local people…………not my favorite person, i dislike his sidekick, scum of the earth.

33. Colonel Buggy Avatar
    Colonel Buggy

It is surprising that Ronnie Clarke,who is Programme Manager of VOB, would allow Peter Wickham to expouse his Botsy Theology ,on what has become Down to Arse tacts, when Peter is in the saddle.

34. Hey would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with?
    I’m going to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a difficult
    time choosing between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reason I ask is because your layout seems
    different then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique.
    P.S My apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!