Four Seasons struggles to restart

In the coming days leading up to the General Election – to be held on the 21 February 2013 – BU will be raising issues which we hope will be ventilated and explained on the campaign trail. The first is the vexing issue of the stalled Four Seasons project which has been forced from the public eye because of the CLICO and Alexandra issues among others.

It is fair to say that for most Barbadians the inability of all concerned to restart the Four Seasons project remains a big concern. BU believes the project is now suffering from a crisis of confidence. It is no secret the Barbados economy is a beast which must be fed forex to sustain itself. That it would take as long as it has to restart the project – harsh economic conditions notwithstanding –  challenges our ability to prioritize and manage the issues.

The news coming from Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler last week that the government will be issuing a good news update about the project very soon is being eagerly awaited.  The usually loquacious Avinash Persaud has been persuaded to defer to government making the announcement, possibly at tomorrow night’s mass political meeting at Bay Street.

Of interest to BU is whether the government intends to pump millions of NIS money into the project and or issue a guarantee to the investors. On the eve of a general election it is not unknown for governments to dish out sweet heart deals. Against this perspective many will be listening to the announcement by the government with keen interest.

If government makes a decision to invest in the Four Seasons project – and we are speculating here –  the question must be asked how can the government commit financial resources to a private sector led project BUT refuse to honour its full obligation to the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill (UWI). Another reason BU and others will be monitoring the announcement with great interest.

47 responses to “Four Seasons a Project for All Seasons”

1. David

By now you and all other right thinking member of this society would realise that the job of governing this country has proven to be too much for this DLP administration. They did not have the right mix. You could say that they had a plan to win the elections but thereafter, they had no plan to govern.

Five short years ago, the country rejected the Owen Arthur administration mainly because of their arrogance. Five years is a short time to be in political purgatory but equally, five more years of this bungling incompetence that was exhibited by this administration is too much to ask this country to bear just that they would qualify for a massive parliamentary pension.

2. @Caswell

Before the partisans jump in we want to hear from the Opposition as well how it plans to honour UWI payment and restart Four Seasons.

3. David,

I believe that this country is at a stand still because people have no confidence in the government. They feel that they lack the ability to govern. I have confidence that that confidence will return with a change in the direction of this country.

Yes, it will take time to sort out but Barbados can be turned around. Right now we have a government that says….”wait and see…..we have a governor that says……”no one can do better…. there is no other path than the one we are on”. Even the rating agencies told them that their policies are wrong headed but no….they are the only right ones!

You cannot help the Dems, they are pigheaded and need to go!

4. @Prodigal Son

How will your party breath life into the Four Seasons project?

And to be honest Mascoll’s policy of putting money into consumers pocket when we all know we import virtually every thing is scary for BU.

Maybe we don’t understand or he has not communicated clearly.

5. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

The country is suffering from a dearth of talent on either side of the political divide. This present lot has failed miserably. If the BLP wins the elections, they must be considered to be on probation and if they can’t manage, they too should be ejected in one term.

The next five years must see the development of an alternative to these two spent political forces. Barbados needs at least two parties that would be able to consign the BLP and DLP to History’s pages if they continue the nonsense that they have been feeding the country. WE DESERVE BETTER!

6. Caswell. They also know how to loose a election. These are the things that have bajans damn vex: Put 60 million in the said Four Season and expecting to put another 60 million. Using the NIS as a Salary Loan Depot. Using NIS money to bail out The Transport Board. Giving Cost U Less nuff waivers that will destroy various struggling businesses. Putting workers on the breadline that are working in the various sectors:- Car parts, electronic, pharmacies, furniture, shoes, groceries, photography, computers, small and large appliance and the list goes on. Building more houses than larger countries, yet the majority are unoccupied.
    I voted for a change in 2008 and is stressed-out to keep my home going due to increases in electricity, telephone, water and food. All this grand standing about all these houses built and easing people from suffering don’t add up. No country can survive on being primarily a society and overlooking an economy. Finally, it is suicidal for any Government to take the lead in employment, gloating that no public servant has been severed, yet over 10 thousand private sector workers are home and countless businesses closed down.
    Now tell me, is this a reason to pump your chest out and beat it saying that these are accomplishments?

7. Tell me why…..you are spot on.

8. Tell Me Why, it seems so my friend. And to get people to come to hear them, they had to enlist Krosfyah! Poor Dems!

David, I do not know what the BLP will do as regards to Four Seasons. To be honest at first, I said not a darn cent of our NIS dollars but it has started and we need to look at the project. First thing get rid of the expensive Professor.

We keep hearing that we have an aging and tired tourism plant, so we need new ones rooms to come on stream. After staying at a Four Seasons in Florida, I can tell you that it is first class and if we can have that same standard, we will be doing something good.

With clear decisive leadership, the BLP will have to weigh the options. I do not think they need to rush and make any announcements on anything because the way these Dems were going, I do not think that there will be too much to work with when the BLP wins. Remember, one Dem said on this BU that they have the money from the sale of the BNB shares to lick out before elections are called.

The BLP will need to carefully analyse and then come up with workable solutions, they cannot over promise any thing just to win votes like the DLP did in 2008. Look where that got us!

9. I just couldn’t go to bed without mentioning the biggest joke regarding unemployment moving from 12.5 percent to 10.8 percent against the backdrop of layoffs at Almond, LIME, Hotels, and the list goes on. Probably the 2,000 employed from around Xmas up to last week gave the figures a jump. But what after the elections?

10. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

As Always we want to see the DEED!Never build on what you dont own

Vote Truth Not Party 3rd Party Time

11. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Tell me Why

They also know how to deceive a trusting electorate. The passed the Employment Rights Act to much acclaim, even I sang their praises. However, they refused to put it in place in order to protect workers and are now asking workers to vote for them. What gall!

12. Pages 24 & 25 of BarbadosToday is very interesting reading.

Then there are Pages 32 & 33

Wow……..like a scene from the Barbados Yacht Club in the 50s but at least this was for a good cauce.

13. I hope everyone is ready to help with the rebuilding that is going to take a very long time, given all the damage done to the economy through hard headedness, selfishness and arrogance. It will be a very long and difficult road given the decades of neglect of agriculture and the utter and inexplicable disdain for food security in Barbados.

14. A surprising announcement that government plans to buy Almond Beach Village for 110 million and turn it over to the staff.

15. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

I spent nearly two hours with one (if not the top) real estate agents yesterday
    and he agreed that HOW is 100 hotel or so rooms at Four Seasons going to make such a massive diference to our tourism product. Of course it would be nice to have a worldclass property managed by Four Seasons, which is recognised as one of the top brands globally, but is it going to make up for the hundreds of rooms and 37 hotels we have lost already plus a loss of nearly 100,000 long stay visitors under the current adminstration.
    With three weeks to go, before the election, I have still yet to hear ANY plausible constructive proposals from either party to re-build our tourism industry and looking through the 2008 DLP Manifesto, not a single stated objective in tourism has been implemented apart from a draft White Paper which has not even had universal approval from the sector itself.

16. And in related news, BU understands the following article is front page news in the UK. O well

A leading British professor has told how he fought to save his wife as she was attacked by a knife-wielding intruder at their villa on the Caribbean island of Barbados.
    Dr James Bridges, one of the country’s leading experts on toxicology, and his professor wife Olga were repeatedly stabbed just minutes after arriving at a £1.3million villa.
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2270495/Professor-recalls-sheer-terror-fought-save-wife-attacked-knife-wielding-intruder.html

17. They could not cover up that one. Get ready for the long and rocky road ahead.

18. Prodigal quote “it will take time to sort out” how come ! isn,t that the same appeal the govt has been taking to the people. How convient for you top be mentioning “time” as we head into an election one that you belive that the BLP might win.But then again didn,t the BLP had more than enough time to restructure the economy but failed miserably in 14years.

19. Well, the comments on the Mail site are not all negative. I have not seen any reporting of this in the Nation on-line, but the impact will be there with the British tourists reconsidering their destinations.

20. What a lovely picture of an idyllic beach setting in the Daily Mail. That should attract lots of Brits to Bim.

How strange I do not see a report of the alleged attack in the Nation or the Advocate.

RBPF must be crafting its press release

21. Should Chrissy be that daff to try resurrecting this rotten bag of Paradise Vines and River Tamarind Bush…they would have really lost all marbles…By the way what became of the plans of JADA built auditorium in the Deacon’s area…DLP man give the electorate lil credit nah…..they have some sense too ya know…

22. The country seems trap in navel gazing mode.

23. @ Adrian Loveridge

You are absolutely right that the so called “Four Seasons” hotel with 100 rooms is or was going to make a big difference to our tourism product. It was a nice adjunct to the whole project and a selling point etc but from everything I have seen or heard this was a high end real estate development and that was where the foreign exchange and profits were going to be earned. The hotel was just a part of it. Government should never have got involved in guaranteeing any money to this private sector project or investing in any way. Yes facilitate and regulate but no public money in this private project. Now we the tax payers are in it up to our necks.

And can you believe the story in Barbados Today that these morons in the DLP are planning to invest in Almond? I need to hear that from the mouth of Minister Sealy, Sinckler or the PM. In any case it may just be another electioneering gimmick along with the other alleged major projects they have in the pipeline. God help us because what choice do we really have in this election? A BLP that gave us GEMS, Al Barrack, Greenland just to name a few. We will also be returning to Parliament a number of arrogant pigs that I had hoped we had seen the last of in public office. Apologies to the pigs.

24. Like the DLP now doing EVA-THING…..

Lowe buying- New Garbage trucks, Estwick- New Market Stalls for vendors. Sinkler- Re-starting Four Seasons, Inniss – New Drug policies,…who else?…are there no more f-akers?

25. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Nostradamus,

I can’t believe the ABV Government thing either. During the last year or so of operation they were discounting the rates to ridiculous levels, even to the point when they were being sold through GROUPON, which would have netted a room rate of US$60 per night ALL INCLUSIVE. Without wanting to demean the staff, I doubt the Almond brand has any real value now and if it re-opens after around $10 million worth of refurbishment, they will still be almost entirely tour operator dependent at low average room rates. The Barbados Today article stating ABV attracted 25,000 visitor arrivals per year would indicate an average occupancy rate of just 61 per cent. At US$150 per room per night (in they were lucky) thats US$13.2 million in annual revenue, which could not possibily justify an investment of BDS$110 million plus refurbishment costs of BDS$10.5 million.
    I wonder which lawyer on the BTA board came up with this ‘GEM ‘ of an idea and suggested it to the MOT?

26. The other issue not being addressed is what justification the government is prepared to invest money which it does not have while owing the UWI 200 million dollars. We need to have a serious conversation in this country.

27. Check-This-Out | January 30, 2013 at 11:42 AM |
    What a lovely picture of an idyllic beach setting in the Daily Mail. That should attract lots of Brits to Bim.
    …………………………………………………………………………..
    Really!! What selfish arrogance at a time like this..

28. old onion bags | January 30, 2013 at 2:37 PM |
    Like the DLP now doing EVA-THING…..

Lowe buying- New Garbage trucks, Estwick- New Market Stalls for vendors. Sinkler- Re-starting Four Seasons, Inniss – New Drug policies,…who else?…are there no more f-akers?.
    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
    If we are not careful,with all of this stuffing- at- the- last minute expenditure, when the next government takes over, it may find itself in the same position as the Dipper in 1961,with a broke Treasury.

29. alond beach is heywood over again

30. sry almond beach village

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

The Four Seasons Project is a very challenging piece of real estate in need of the skills and services of a seriously competent and experienced management guru .
    David Thompson and Avinash Persaud failed, Chris Sinckliar & Avinash failed.

So why not try a man touted to be the greatest planter of houses Bim has ever seen?
    Here we have a man who has shown by his astute stone cold ability over the last 5 years to house every last Bajan including Miss Vine overgrown with joy and Mrs. Bush with her family of rats looking through broken windows living at Constant or even the Baker’s stewing in the ovens at Coverly.

A man with the outstanding credentials of planting stone and wood with the unswerving support of jada and preconco to reap a rich harvest of erections to launder $17 million in rags to riches in just 5 years.

Why not let this man of mercurial financial success spread his wings and take on another ministerial assignment to really prove his indomitable abilities. Since there isn’t a pinch of snuff that can get into any asshole to separate the scholastic background and academic achievement of this ministerial magician called Michael the Lashley from his school mate Chris the Buffoon and King of Lies and Abject Failures, why not let them trade ministerial places?

We are all sure that with Minister Lashley’s litany of achievements he will make an excellent and outstanding Minister of Finance and- with his Midas touch- will turn stone and wood into gold and the future economic success of Bim will be assured and the Four Seasons will take on a new Spring and the light of Summer will reign supreme giving meaning to the phrase: “A Man (called Lashley) for All Seasons”.

32. Excellent, miller!

33. Now what political games this government playing?

Now where the hell would the Dems find 100 million to buy Almond? Instead of blowing the 167 million from the sale of BNB shares as a DLP yardfowl said on BU, they could have used this money for this instead of giving it to Jada and Preconco!

This is like Donville’s imaginary new hospital.that not even the senior public officers know about!

34. EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE. Avatar
    EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE.

man de PM sound real out ah place tonite doh he aint sound comfortable

35. David wrote “A surprising announcement that government plans to buy Almond Beach Village for 110 million and turn it over to the staff.”

Government must be a bunch of idiots.

Bajans are a useless incompetent bunch who can only work if a white man or a Trinidadian or a Jamaican cutting duh backside.

Instead of wasting taxpayers money sell Almond to Butch or Doyle the Canadian and give taxpayers a $100 million rebate on their taxes.This way some a wunna would have extra cash to spend in Miami or St.Maarten.

Why not see if any of the super rich Russians interested?

Find a (preferably white) foreigner to buy Almond and show wunna Bajans how to run a Hotel.

While you at it get it rebranded to Blanched Almond.

At this point I would reread what I just wrote and sanitize it but……hopefully I have pisssed you all off enough to cuss me and maybe Bushie will join wunna too.

36. EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE. | January 30, 2013 at 7:06 PM |

man de PM sound real out ah place tonite doh he aint sound comfortable

Equal Rights …..he was constipated and the words got stuck.

Have you all seen today’s Nation Newspaper the front page you see a picture of a very unattractive individual with the PM’s name next to it and on page 7A a DLP AD a different individual posing as the PM. They can be accused of impersonation or false advertising.

37. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son | January 30, 2013 at 6:26 PM |

The DLP is surely of the 2008 election mindset of smoke and mirrors to think Bajans are really educated idiots with a brain full of learning in amnesia
    and knowledge in forgetfulness as to try to pull the stunts coming off the production line of the lie factory in George Street aka Propaganda Alley off Goebbels Lane.

Here is a political party in charge of the government of a country that has recently received the unenviable ‘never-in-local-history’ status of Junk Bond for its debt paper or international IOU’s. Now how can this brazen administration that owes away hundreds of millions to entities like the UWI and local suppliers and citizens have the diarrhoeic intestinal fortitude and hernial testicular unabashed brashness promise away billions in social and economic infrastructure and investment just to win a second term of incompetence, unfulfilled promises and social and economic shock and awe on its citizens.

Where is the money coming from to finance a new hospital, costing $1 billion; a new sugar cane factory and industry costing over $ 400 million, a waste-to-energy plant costing $1/2 billion, a cruise terminal, a bought-out Almond beach Village for $110 million plus upgrading of over $10 million; and the shopping list goes on?

Where will the foreign exchange come from when we have barely enough to pay for our food and oil for less than 6 months? And now saddled with a dying tourism industry receiving heavy blows and outright stabbings from a bad press in our main source market.

An African snail can undertake a cross-Atlantic journey in a duppy parasol to Timbuktu and return back speaking Swahili before Barbados can borrow even $100 million on the international market to restart the Four Seasons project.
    Not even Kiffynn or Cow with their millions would touch that with CCC’s barge pole of filth.

We really need a rich mining magnate copycat philanthropist from South Africa to bail this bankrupt government out of its financial black hole.

38. i thought the reort was suppose to be streaming.

39. This bunch of nitwits that formed the last administration can’t help looking for some scheme to line the pockets of their friends. Can you imagine that they have approved a project to re-issue all Barbados ID cards that will role out when they win the next elections.

They intend to abandon the ID numbers and go back to the system that existed prior to 1979. The reason for going back to the old numbering system is that the current ID numbers are not unique and sometime down the road the same number could be re-issued. What they are not saying is that the present number will come around again for re-issue in 2,500 years. What the hell would I care if somebody gets my ID number in TWO THOUSAND FIVE HUNDRED YEARS. And to think that the country does not have any money.

What will happen to the thousands of Barbadians who live overseas, would they be required to journey to Barbados to get new IDs.

40. @Hants

We need to hear more details about this government buyout of ABV.

41. I really don’t understand why a country who has had the tourism product for decades are totally incapable of successfully owning and managing all the hotels in Bim, with the citizens as owners. Why must they always be working for somebody else, enough with the slave mentality already, then they want to complain when the foreign entities pull out and leave them jobless. Then there is the politician always ready to sell out and launder.

42. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

i hope by now that the government of Barbados could see that this Four Seasons project will never come to be. if all the huge equipment had been removed at the same time that David Thompson was assuring bajans that it would resume in 4 months time… and this is now 2013, tell me someone, when will it really start? the truth should have come out from the very beginning. When people find governments willing and naive enough to believe and accept dribble, especially coming from a white man, then all and sundry will capitalise on it until someone in authority puts a stop to it. $200 million down the drain or in someone’s bank account, that was the first disaster with Four Seasons. $200 million and all u can see is bush, marl roads, where is the @200 million and why has no one invested that? Chris Sinckler fired Ian Carrington to have his way so that no one would stop him from GIVING NOT LENDING Fours Seasons $60 million NIS dollars two years ago… All like now FOURS SEASONS HAS NOT BEEN COMPLETED. I think if bajans go on Youtube to a particular vid they would understand what really happened to Four seasons and know that it has nothing to natural occurrences and all to do with fraud… and most of all, there will NEVER be a Four Seasons on that property.

the real reason our economy and people are suffering like this is due to the theft that goes on in high places at the expense of taxpayers. if chris sinckler had taken that $60 million barbados dollars and put it into the economy, we would be better off, no he took it and gave it to four seasons and fours seasons is nowhere near completion.

43. Time for international probes of all these scams, there must be some recourse.

44. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

CORRECTION TO ABOVE:
    I meant, ” $200 million and all u can see is bush, marl roads, where is the @200 million and why has no one INVESTIGATED that?”

45. “In his just-released 2014 report, Auditor General Leigh Trotman raises serious concern over a loan guarantee, which was provided by the Democratic Labour Party-led Government during the financial year 2011-2012, after the project hit a major financial snag.”

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/03/24/questions-raised-on-govts-loan-guarantee/

46. old onion bags Avatar

Man in case U din hear,… um did VEX money…..Des millions dat get PUMP at the 12th hour did to allow a certain Celtic man to get back ee money or he did vow not to put fwd annuda cent in the campaign. He din believe in Sunk Cost theory cuz he cuntry did w\o nuutin so…Leigh play you ent kno…