Donville Inniss - Minister of Health has accused BLP MPs of eating lunch in the lunchroom of parliament despite a decision to boycott parliament.
Donville Inniss – Minister of Health has accused BLP MPs of eating lunch in the lunchroom of parliament despite a decision to boycott parliament.

We are in the silly season and the standard, if we are to judge from the past, is for the public to expect lose information to spew from the mouths of politicians without serious challenge. During the silly season party supporters will seek to ‘legitimize’ information to attempt to give their side a political advantage. Given the challenges which continue to confront our tiny and vulnerable country, we deserve better from our politicians in and outside of government to manage the level of political discourse.

Those of us who try to be fair in our commentary have become fedup with the same old political barbs being tossed from one political side and then the other.  Hopefully the traditional media will join BU and others in social media to put the many unsubstantiated utterances of politicians under the microscope.

Yesterday in that august place Minister of Health Inniss revealed that some BLP members of parliament (MPs) ate lunch in the lunch room of parliament. Ordinarily such a revelation would not have raised eyebrows, however, against the background of boycott action by the Opposition it maybe viewed as bad judgement if they did. BU believes that the public should not be treated to a – yes they ate no they did not – by the supporters of both political parties. It should be a simple matter to confirm or refute Minister Inniss’ accusation.  Based on BU’s investigation so far the statement appears to be false. We are happy to correct our position if concrete confirmation is provided. The BU family has not forgotten the ‘flying a kite’ strategy by Minister Inniss that Kingsland is a location which is being favourably considered to relocate the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH).

Another bit of information which the public deserves to have clarified is the recent accusation by Prime Minister Stuart that he received a note from leader of the Opposition Arthur to ‘take’ Mia Mottley off the BLP’s hands. Given the image which DLPites suggest that Stuart deserving wears – one of being honest and exuding high integrity – the burden to prove Stuart a liar falls squarely on the back of Arthur to wash away the accusation by Stuart. Hopefully Arthur will grab the opportunity at the BLP’s mass meeting tonight (16/01/2013) to admit or deny. BU has not been able to confirm whether Stuart is a liar up to the time of updating the blog.

As the silly season progresses BU will place statements made by both sides under the public eye for scrutiny. In those cases where statements can be exposed as being false, we will apply the label ‘liar’ to the politicians who made them.

139 responses to “Beware BLP and DLP Politicians: LIAR,LIAR, Pants on Fire!”

1. @Hants
    Given the prevailing sentiment on this blog seems like there are two Canucks who favour the present Party retaining power ah wonder what it is about these folks who live in this not so cold place ( Ok not if you live in Saskatoon), perhaps we realize that yuh can’t eat steak everyday and some people like they miss their daily filet mignon.

It is beyond comical that the mighty BLP with two Atty. Generals and assorted lawyers on board couldn’t anticipate that if the Senate was meeting that the meeting could well go beyond the prescribed time.
    Is it fair to say that they were assuming? Well there is a funny little saying about assuming but any way the alternative Gov’t with all the experience on board if they keep on assuming will surely not be ready for Prime Time.

2. CCC;
    So could you tell the BU family what happens on 12th February 2013 if the PM does not call the Elections before then? Will parliament continue after that date? Is the DLP looking to inadvertently shut down the normal financial operations of Government for a few months? How are preparations for the estimates going? Will the Civil Servants get them properly processed and ready in sufficient time to be debated and passed by both houses before EWB day (4 days from now) or even the 12th February? How will the Ministers get their Technical staff enthused and fired up to complete the task PROPERLY in the time left?

Has Freundel factored in the possiblity that even if he calls the election in sufficient time to avoid the automatic legislative shutdown, the fiscal shutdown nightmare could still be waiting for us around the corner ?

3. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Checkit-Out

The DLP is not worried about the Estimates and the automatic shutdown of Parliament on February 12th. Parliament can be re-summoned by the GG if the PM determines that an emergency arose that requires it, in accordance with section 61 (5) of the Constitution, which states:

If, between a dissolution of Parliament and the next
    ensuing general election of members to the House of Assembly,
    an emergency arises of such a nature that, in the opinion of the
    Prime Minister, it is necessary for the two Houses or either of
    them to be summoned before that general election can be held,
    the Governor-General, acting in accordance with the advice
    of the Prime Minister, may summon the two Houses of the
    preceding Parliament, and that Parliament shall thereupon be
    deemed (except for the purposes of section 62) not to have
    been dissolved but shall be deemed (except as aforesaid) to be
    dissolved on the date on which the polls are held in the next
    ensuing general election.

The prospect of the Government running out of money might be enough for the PM to determine that there is an emergency exist that require the re-summoning of Parliament.

4. Caswell;

Surely you jest! LOL

How could you imagine that FS and his merry men would think of doing such a thing?

I prefer to believe that they are mainly rational people who would consider that if they pull such an act that they would get certainly lose all their seats in the next elections and therefore they would be more circumspect. But I’m usually wrong.

Anyhow, In case you’re right and FS is leading us over the cliff. I’ll have to get my supplies for the coming storm tomorrow.

5. Caswell;
    I was so shocked by your post above that I forgot to congratulate you on coming up with such an idea that seems to be typical of the asymetric way that FS’s brain seems to work.

6. The PM is agreeing with Donville Inniss that greedy licorish BLP members were in the Parliament lunch room hunting for food after claiming they were boycotting the august chamber. These BLPites worst than vagrants scrounging for morsels in garbage cans.

7. CONFUCIUS SAYS=Fine words and an insinuating appearance are seldom associated with true virtue.

Forget injuries, never forget kindnesses.

Go before the people with your example, and be laborious in their affairs.

Have no friends not equal to yourself.

He who exercises government by means of his virtue may be compared to the north polar star, which keeps its place and all the stars turn towards it.

He who learns but does not think, is lost! He who thinks but does not learn is in great danger.

8. The BLP needs to get better legal advice.bunch of amateurs. I sense the incompetence of Dale Marshall in this fiasco.

9. i hope The BLP have a message to present to the people so far lot of fluff and no substance. it is time the BLP go back to work and stop wasting the tax payers money .

10. Does anyone have a clue how the BLP wild promises and gimmicks would be funded or will blind party loyalty force BLP yardfowls to pretend that this question is not significant?

11. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Yardbroom | January 17, 2013 at 6:55 AM |
    In a matter of weeks – if not days – the election date will be set.

It must be a matter of days not weeks if the fiscal integrity of this country is to be maintained. The Annual Estimates have a constitutionally defined timetable that must be adhered to.

If the PM is not to be seen as Lawbreaker by showing early signs of a Mugabe-type he must announce the election date within the coming 7 days to allow elections to take place, a new government to be elected, a new session of Parliament to be convened and the Estimates laid, debated and duly passed in both Houses before March 31,

This is the more politically advisable option instead of the one mentioned by Caswell as outlined at section 61 (5) of the Constitution which should be used only for unforeseen emergency situations. The Estimates are certainly not unforeseen or an emergency but a set constitutional responsibility of the government.

The PM has no option but to announce the general elections date on Monday, 21st January 2013; a special (red-letter) day on the DLP political calendar

12. millertheanunnaki Avatar

The PM again has again put another nail in his lying integrity coffin. By revealing that he knew the General Election date since March 2011 he proved himself to be a liar to the little school boy last year when he was asked about the date. He appeared dumbstruck and totally confused and bamboozled by the question.

Lying to little children is a big sin in the eyes of decent people. If he was a real man of integrity he (knowing the date he has planned in his head) could have told the youngster that he has a date in mind but just can’t reveal it at this stage for political strategic purposes. But instead he found it easy to lie.
    Is this the kind of man that can be trusted by the young people of Barbados?

13. A miller
    “The PM again has again put another nail in his lying integrity coffin. By revealing that he knew the General Election date since March 2011 he proved himself to be a liar to the little school boy last year when he was asked about the date. He appeared dumbstruck and totally confused and bamboozled by the question.”

miller,
    Well said, this is exactly what I was thinking this morning when I was listening to the news, I screamed out………….you blasted liar! You should have seen the liar’s face when he told the little boy…………..I dont know……and now comes and says he had the date since March 2011.

Idiot, since it seems to all and sundry that he likes power so much, why the hell did he not call the election then, he would not be in such dire straits now.

14. Caswell,

I have it from good authority that the estimates are way behind, so those on BU who think that you are being extreme are just spinning!

I cringe when I hear DLP operatives saying how brilliant FS is. We all know that January to March is considered a busy time for the MOF, why go and complicate things by stringing out an election. It seems to have now dawned on FS that his time is up. Never mind what the legals say!

Time is up, Freundel! He sounded so small and petty this morning on VOB news, look who is leading us!

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son | January 17, 2013 at 9:26 AM |

The man seems to be a pathological liar.

He lied about the CLICO report being “stolen” only to realise he had it ‘hidden’ among the pile of files that is known to take up permanent residence on his desk.

We shall see if he produces the note that OSA sent him to take Mia off his hands.

16. miller,
    Dont forget that the DLP’s plan is to throw enough mud and hope some sticks. The Dem said that FS will not throw mud so men like Donville will have to throw the mud. Did you not see that on Tuesday?

I dont know why people think that FS is this Mr Integrity? Every time FS opens his mouth he is attacking OSA or some member of the BLP in the most vicious way. He is like an animal cornered and latches out every time he opens his mouth!

17. ThePM strategy has worked cause it has kept the BLP boxed into a one issue message of drivel of “ring the bell” giving them less time to define and control a substantive message about economic matters. which is the one message the BLP has been trying to capatilise on. PM stuart is no FOOL. One would think that with all the driving economic issues the BLP would have been more opportunistic in their presentation than resorting to mundane drivel about a “bell” and strke action to show how dumb they are.

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | January 17, 2013 at 10:15 AM |

You can rant and rave as much as you like but you can’t gainsay that FS lied to little children in a rather boldfaced unabashed manner.

But there is one date he will not lie about and that is Monday 21st January; and it is from that date on that the BLP will be rolling out its economic recovery policies and plans for the country.
    Just you wait and hear!

19. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Checkit-Out

If you heard the exchange between Hal Gollop and me on Brasstacks on January 2, 2013, it would be obvious that this scenario is their plan that he allowed to slip. You would recall that Gollp suggested that Parliament could be dissolved, then they could do the Estimates later, and then have elections in May. This is the only way it could work.

It would appear that the DEMS are planning an emergency, not planning for an emergency.

20. Additional Services Avatar
    Additional Services

@ Caswell

Hal Gollop gave you something to carry and you walking about like a faithful and committed idiot carrying that load of misinformation and not even knowing it. By the way on that call-in progam Hal made you seem like an ill-informed child or amateur.

Clearly you are not familiar with The Prince or the Art of War.

21. Miller another “nugget” if you think so to Add to the BLP list if “nonissues” get a grip.FS didn,t have to reveal his secret to anybody.

22. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | January 17, 2013 at 11:45 AM |

Go tell that to the children that FS openly lied to! Why not a courteous politically savvy response like: “I do have a date in mind but it would be politically stupid of me to reveal it at this time to give too early a warning to the opposition”. I will announce the date, in due course, when the time is propitious”.

Now the boy would have asked: What does “propitious” mean?
    There is where poor FS would come into his schoolteacher element!

He really tricked the little children the same way he tricked Mary & her bunch BSTU naïve lambs.

BTW, FS has already revealed his secret: Monday ,21st January is the day you will hear it.

23. Additional Services Avatar
    Additional Services

I am informed that PM has not attended Cabinet today and just a few moments ago his mercedes was seen exiting the offical residence of the Governor General.

Whats up?

24. What is even more sickly of the Opposition is that I have learnt from yesterday’s sitting that even yesterday that there were members of the BLP in the lunch room of parliament for Wednesday’s sitting of The Senate.
    A Hungry hand to mouth bunch of vagrants and crooks banded under the guise of a labour party.

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Additional Services | January 17, 2013 at 12:36 PM |

Maybe he- with a pricked conscience- has given in to his religious upbringing and allowed the voice of the child to guide him. like the ghost of Banquo he has been haunted by the innocent but intelligent question straight out of the mouth of a babe: “Mr. PM, when are you going to call the elections?”

Poor man, he has now finally gotten round to the innocent child and has asked the GG for a warrant to announce the election date. A little child has led him straight to Pilgrim House.

The question is: will Mr. Vacillator announce it tonight to take some of the steam out of the BLP’s mass meeting due for Friday evening or will he wait until Monday his original date in mind?

26. Bdos Underground Talkshop Avatar
    Bdos Underground Talkshop

Loose lips sink ships.

27. Miller;
    If he calls it tonight or even Monday wouldn’t this normally mean that parliament will be dissolved from tonight or monday?
    Have the estimates been laid and passed by both houses yet?
    Did the Government retitle and pass last year’s estimates as this year’s own on Tuesday and did the Senate pass them last night?

That would indeed be strange as most Government departments are still working on their submissions for the estimates even today. So can we therefore take it that the estimates were not passed?

The question then becomes will the PM call the elections for some day before the 12th February or will he call it for afterwards? If it is well afterwards the Caswell doomsday scenario would still be in play. If it is before that date it is possible with a slight stretch, that the new Government under someone other than FS could have the real estimates ready after the elections before the customary March 31st date. But then that date is not enshrined in Law so the doomsday scenario would have been avoided

28. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Checkit-Out | January 17, 2013 at 2:17 PM |

Elections can be held from mid to late February. Parliament can be convened in early March and the Estimates debated and passed before the 1st April 2013.

29. Looks like an election date of February 18th

30. @
    Hungry Crooks | January 17, 2013 at 1:14 PM |

What is even more sickly of the Opposition is that I have learnt from yesterday’s sitting that even yesterday that there were members of the BLP in the lunch room of parliament for Wednesday’s sitting of The Senate.
    A Hungry hand to mouth bunch of vagrants and crooks banded under the guise of a labour party……………..

As a johnny come lately,

Throw your mud around, the BLP knows that this is your game plan as the odds are against you. We have overheard one of your conversations in passing that you DLP will throw around mud and hope that some sticks. Go ahead, the electorate is well informed this time around and will not fall for your lies again.

I will not lie, cheat or steal….. Mr Fraud himself!

31. @Prodigal Son

As BU’s blogmaster it is better to ignore sometimes.

32. Barbados Underground Talkshop; Re. your admonition to Additional Services re. loose lips and the sinking of ships; Which Ship?

33. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 7, 2013 IS A BIG DAY FOR BARBADOS AND FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 8, 2013 AN EVEN BIGGER DAY!

34. Even Donville’s photo looks sleazey, that sleazy smile, those sleazy looking eyes.

35. Again, a denial on the back page of the Sunday Sun by Dale Marshall. In other words he is calling Inniss a liar.

36. Let it be known….No BLP members partook of any meals….Parliament Logs there..go check the records for yourselves …just DLP poorrakey-ism again…..they drowning now !

37. Hurrah, that’s what I was searching for, what a material!
    existing here at this weblog, thanks admin of this web site.

38. Hello! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new iphone 4!
    Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to all
    your posts! Keep up the fantastic work!

39. Hi there, yup this article is really nice and I have learned lot of things from it regarding blogging.
    thanks.