BLP and DLP – our political leaders

BU is disappointed that despite the Barbados economy being gripped in a protracted depressed global economy, the national political debate continues to be about privatization, and of late, the poorakey behaviour unleashed in parliament last week.

BU joins with ordinary Barbadians to suggest worthy topics deserving of national debate:

• How do we increase productivity in all sectors?
  • Making our governance framework more robust
  • How to more aggressively rollout the renewable solution (including waste to energy)
  • Amending the education system to align with national priorities
  • Source funding to build out a framework to drive the cultural and sports industries (national lotteries)
  • How do we incent consumers to buy hybrids – install renewable energy sources etc, etc, etc.

To debate any of the topics mentioned lends currency to the label that Barbadians are an educated people. And that we are attuned and aligned to what the key strategic priorities are at this juncture in our history. Forget the flowery nation building articles which have started to populate the local press. It is time to get real!

Many agree that there is no significant philosophical divide between twiddledee and twiddledum. BU concedes however that on the issue of building out a Renewable Energy (RE) program, kudos must be given to the government. It is a life changing strategy which has deep implication for how our little country will sustain an appealing standard of living moving forward. As we approach our 46th year of Independence BU views government’s strategy to diversify energy needs as critical.

Can they be more efficient in the implementation of RE? Yes!

The Opposition Party promises to continue its policy to subsidize fuel is myopic in our view. In the same way a parent sometimes has to make unpopular decisions affecting the household, the same can be attributed to government.

BU endorses government’s strategy of greening the economy.

131 responses to “Are BOTH Major Political Parties Capable of Lifting the Political Debate?”

1. @Miller

Layne suggested that the government has to play a facilitative role to protect the tourism industry and long haul routes which are likely not to be attractive by the profit motive.

Regarding CBC he believes with easy access to info via electronic channels subsidising the CBC maybe redundant.

2. 100% Hardcore Bajan Avatar
    100% Hardcore Bajan

Kerrie Symmonds cannot be the father of Duguids children. Have you seen the size and shape of Symmonds head, from the side view Symmonds look RETARDED as as bajans say, RETARTIT.

Who was the Trini banker putting the horns on Symmonds?

3. Poorrakey gone viral Avatar
    Poorrakey gone viral

As a newbie writer to this here blog,- [don’t mind the Old n The Reckless like Laff it Off Fractured and a new found Pattie Pat] I am appauled at this mud slinging on this blog..Is this the best that BU can offer in way of debate? Why for one, as stated yesterday BU too- like Parliament really gone Poorrakey.
    I now substantiate my point.

After lambasting Dr. Duguid for his obvious slip of the lip, political destitutes the likes of 100% Hard Core now turn to Sen. Kerrie . Is this all there is to post?. I look forward to the day of wholesome articles like the one about Horses or Taming of the Shrew (as issue resurfaced today on Brass Tacks) instead of all this slime slinging.

Ole Onions Bag come back do and post something worth the while bredds. Bu has surely lost its way.

4. A guy called Robert Le Hunte

5. Another fraud Symmonds is known to have been committed by he Symmonds is waylaying monies owed, and you are going to like this as it will better explain why he is so anti Mark Maloney of Preconco recently, because he was assigned the task to do a debt collection on behalf of Preconco of which he never transfered the money collected to the true owner Preconco.

You are also 100 % correct when you speak of monies he owes to LEX Caribbean only this morning a QC was saying how sad it was that the profession was being destroyed by ones like Symmonds and his dishonest acts, and also yes to the Affidavit written by Dr Boolani that is in careful safe keeping.

6. Please stop referring to members of Parliament by foul terms such as Retarded and as the below copies of comments by some on this Thread

STOP THIS FOOLISHNESS!!!!

A CUSS BIRD Like Duguid a CROOK and a FRAUD a WOMAN BEATER like Symmonds, or a DRUNK and Corrupt LIKE Arthur or a VICIOUS WOMAN BEATER and LESBAIN like MOTTLEY or be of UNCERTAIN GENDER like Gail Marshall and be willing to LIE and STEAL MONEY

Kerrie 1000 pouds of blubber Symmonds | November 29, 2012 at 5:24 AM |
    Alleged wife beater Kerrie 1000 lbs of blubber Symmonds on a lying roll.
    We dont know if its his time of the month.

The BLP is a relic organisation of the past….being led by a parro economist who is driven by thiefing money and cussing Mia Mottley.

7. “poorrakey onions” shoot yuh got the virus too”lying” like OSA you trying to fool and .nuh wonder “onions” go to spam even the computer smell yuh rotten dirty tricks,BOO! HA!

8. stop calling people names
    THIS IS A WARNING

9. It has become tiring to listen to the politicians debate private and public transportation in Barbados. This is a beast which been well fed under both governments.

10. David
    I wish had the money to buy Transport Board lands included. A subsidy from government for OAP. police and school children, and some duty free concessions to get my fleet in shape and bus stops upgraded.

11. @ Yagga Rowe

“stop calling people names
    THIS IS A WARNING”

Who you warning and who exactly is you? Stupse!!

Kerrie Symmonds pelt nuff nuff nuff licks at all kind of people all about Barbados, in the Senate, on political platforms and even on this here blog and you come bout hey today play you warning someone, man carry ya mudder c__t, ya idiot. Kerrie ain’t see nuttin yet, a star aint even pitch good yet and wunna fraid. This weekend gine be his introduction in what the DLP got in store for him in this election cycle. De man was in the Senate when his wife file a police complaint against him for cutting up she car seats and if I recall, putting some hand in her. That is the BLP Senate material. Now people saying he tek piece of money for an immigation matter and huff the doctor money. Other people saying he waylay money belonging to Preconco or Mark Maloney.

Symmonds ain’t the one always walking bout Barbados and telling everyone who would listen, B or D that he gine get that boy Mia Mottley in the end?

12. Think on these Things Avatar
    Think on these Things

He like Duguid is a foul mouth empty vessel that has little good to say about anyone other than himself, he is empty, shallow and devoid of grey matter.

He hates just about everyone and everything and has love for one thing money and will do any and everything to get his hands on money legally or illegally.

13. And we descend further.

14. @ David

Privatisation/divestment/enfranchisement IS a topic worthy of national debate.

15. Simply sickening. These debates are reaching an all time low with political focused bloggers using these blogs to abuse others. I can see these comments are orchestrated, maybe, a room filled with computers with operatives and a political strategist directing the language and the subject to be attacked. BTW, both parties are filled with same sex members. One have nuff lesbians and the other nuff homos. Regardless, both sexes are human being and we must live along side both.

16. Yagga Rowe

F#ck, grow up woman …!

17. Enuff

Hush … come down hey wid the res’ ah we, do …! HA HA HA

18. @Enuff

The discussion about privatization is being politicized at the moment. Yes it is worthy of debate but not at the expense of other overarching issues.

19. My God David … da is you …? Wah you drinking man …

20. Tell me Why

Democracy is a pantomime that is all … That is all that it has ever been, and there is a very good chance that that will be all that it can be. Man play the game wid the rest ah we nah … You cannot change the opinions of a body of idiots by beating over the head with reason,. Do you not think that every politician in every democracy in the history of the world knows this? Man they playing like the rest ah we …

21. We do not want back Big Black Ugly Board Nose. the BullFrog Face, the orangataun mouthed nor the measly mouth cigar smoking whore loving one that breed up a Jamaican stripper neither. We dont want them nack

22. Some of the comments on the blog is just mirroring the reality? Are we ashamed at how ugly we are?

23. @ David
    When you can’t win on record or policy the only thing left to do is get personal. 2008 Redux?

24. @Enuff

This point was made before the silly season started. There are not many government that can win an election based on economic policy.

25. But we are 98% literate.

26. @enuff

Don’t play games with the literacy definition.

27. Sarcasm, sarcasm.

28. Democracy is a pantomime that is all … That is all that it has ever been, …

baf very interesting assumption. however i prefer to believe that with all the inherited problems brought on mostly by the laws to protect the few, that it is the only form of govt that gives people an appreciation and love for freedom.’

29. Wait ac you talking to me now … I still trying to decipher what you say. Of course I would agree with you straight up because you know I likes you, but I think you deserve better than that …

30. David the debate has not been lifted. It has descended into naughty school yard game of taunts about who foop who woman.

No wonder our Parliament is so bad.

We raised and schooled these rascals.

We.

31. my apologies BAF ! i forgot you prefer the dictatorships of CHAVEZ and Castro. not my cup of tea.